Wanderlust

It is 4 days until I leave for London. Four.

20131116-092234.jpgYou know when you’re a kid & people ask you, “If you could go anywhere, where would it be?”. Well, my answer was always London. I like the sun+beach combo just as much as anyone, but I developed this odd obsession with the place when I was about 10-ish. So for those of you playing along at home I have been dreaming of this trip for more than half my life. Why, you ask? Gooood freakin’ question.

It all started when I began reading Harry Potter. Shocker.

Harry Potter is the first series I can really remember reading outside of a school assignment. This is definitely the time I fell in love with books, by the way. The story itself is phenomenal, but when you’re the same age as the characters you can’t help but imagine this whole other world the author created. I mean, I practically grew up with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. We’re basically BFF. It didn’t help when Harry Potter got the beautiful face of Daniel Radcliffe and the series was turned into movies. Let’s fast forward 12 years to when I go visit the theme park at Universal and could actually live out my weird obsession actually thinking I was a Hogwarts student. I walked around waving my wand and drinking butterbeer. I can’t be the only one like this, can I? Whatevs, we’re getting off track here. /end Harry Potter rant.

So I read HP and discovered that there was a whole different world out there. Not in the sense of wizards vs muggles, but the world was a much bigger place than Oak Lawn, Illinois. Cut me a break, ok? I was 10. This was a big moment.

I’ll be honest and tell you all that what really stood out to me were the accents (another shocker). I knew there were people who spoke spanish, french or something else I couldn’t understand but these people were speaking my language (kind of). They lived across the world and I could understand them (again, I was 10). I needed more, like right that minute. So the obsession began.

Between books, movies, and TV shows I fell in love over and over. I have absolutely no idea why. It’s not like I know much about the history or culture, I’ve just always been fascinated with the place because of how it’s portrayed. I think that’s why I have always had a strong desire to visit. I want to learn more and experience the “real life” there for myself. Maybe even find my long lost Hogwarts letter. 😉

20131116-092242.jpg

So, in four days that is what I will be doing.

While there, Natalie & I will be attending the Doctor Who 50th anniversary convention. I’m trying really hard not to add 100 ! points, but if I had to geek out for a minute that *should* be written like this: WE WILL BE GOING TO THE DOCTOR WHO ANNIVERSARY CONVENTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND WE WILL BE IN LONDON WHEN THE EPISODE AIRS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

20131116-092555.jpgI realize I am very, very lucky to work in an industry that allows me to travel like I do. I have been to some amazing places over the past year and am thankful every day for a job like this. That’s when you really know you love your job :D. Michael bought us a good camera to use when we travel so expect a lot of pictures and full recap when I get back!

Cheers, xxx

By the way, on this day in 2001, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone first opened in the US. Thanks, TimeHop!

Check out my trips to Orlando, Hawaii, and Tokyo if you haven’t already 🙂 All of my trips are listed under the Travel section if you want to read about them all!

 

This entry was posted in Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wanderlust

  1. Soumyajit says:

    Fun read!
    Have a great trip 🙂

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    Whoever took that first picture… just wow!

  3. Pingback: London Part 1 | endlessovereating

  4. Pingback: London Part 2: Doctor Who 50th Anniversary | endlessovereating

Leave a Reply

