Happenings

Life is busy. Am I right or amiright?

If you’re wondering what I did in June, let me sum it up for you in 1 word: WORK. Seriously, that’s all I did. I even double checked my calendar to make sure I wasn’t missing anything cool. Nope. As my friend Liz said (many years ago while still working at the Union), “All I do is work, work, work, no matta’ what”. It still holds true. So there’s that.

July? Different story. Let’s recap!

For the first time in I-don’t-know-how-long, I actually had the 4th off. Whoopie! A chunk (did I spell that right? Looks weird..) of my family and myself spent the day at 6 flags and it was fantastic. Batman was going backwards and um, it was terrifying. I actually thought to myself “why am I doing this?” but at that point was already on the ride. #NAMTAB (get it?)

20130730-191726.jpg

I actually got to spend time in the sun over the holiday weekend! My body was begging me for some vitamin D so I finally had to give in. Who am I trying to kid here? I jumped at the opportunity. Lezbehonest. I didn’t see any part of the sun in June so I had to go tanning. THIS IS A TRUE STORY. On that note, JWOWW’s White Wedding Bronzer is fantastic. Moving on.

I went to my first rooftop Cub’s game. Bucket list? Check! Definitely worth the money..all you can eat food AND beer? Sold.

20130730-191750.jpg

I just got back to work after having the past 10 days off. I even took my work e-mail off my phone. I felt so disconnected and it was amazing. Michael and I saw Jason Aldean at Wrigley Field the first weekend I was off. Love me some Aldean. I spent the first few days relaxing because that’s what vacation is all about, right? A bigger portion of the family went up to the Kalahari in Wisconsin Dells during the middle of my vacation week. Who knew how funny my family was?

20130730-191909.jpg

20130730-191927.jpg

20130730-191941.jpg

20130730-191949.jpg

Note: they have a new-ish ride that reminded me of The Hunger Games. You get enclosed in a tube and stand with your back against the wall. A timer counts down from 3 and the floor drops out from under you. Yes, this is real life. And really scary. I screamed the entire way down. You don’t free fall, but go down a really, really steep slide that gives you a huge wedgie. Sorry but it’s true.

This past Saturday I spent the night celebrating Laura at her bachelorette party. Definitely a night I will always remember. I had so much fun that these pictures don’t do any justice at all.

20130730-192031.jpg

20130730-192037.jpg

20130730-192050.jpg

Sunday was Michael’s birthday and we celebrated with some of this family. Before heading into the city for that I celebrated Molly’s baptism with the family. Glad to see all the people from the bachelorette party made it to the church the next day…myself included.

20130730-192101.jpg

& on Monday, I went back to work. Balls.

Reading page is updated for those of you following my quest in reading 100 books this year!

Last but not least: Brushetta Chicken (you can thank me later).

Need: chicken, basil, italian dressing, tomatoes, mozzarella.

I put the chicken in the bag with a little bit of italian dressing and basil. I let it sit for about an hour because apparently it helps marinate it (and that’s what the directions said to do).

20130730-191807.jpg

In the mean time, I cut up the mozzarella and tomatoes and threw them in a bowl with more basil. Try not to eat all this while waiting for the chicken. It’s hard, trust me.

20130730-191817.jpg

Cook chicken. Add brushetta-type concoction on top. Eat and thank me later. πŸ™‚

20130730-191828.jpg

Oh yeah, I got my high score in Dice with Buddies. Sorry Allen!

20130730-192113.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Gluten Limited, Life, Pinterest Inspired. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

