This and That

I work for an operation that runs 24 hours a day/7 days a week so my days off aren’t normally Saturday and Sunday. My “weekend” this month happens to fall on Wednesday/Thursday. I actually really like having those days off because my week at work flies by! Even though I get off at 11p on the “normal” weekend, Jim and I still find time to hang out while he’s off. Since that’s during my work week, the next thing I know it’s Tuesday (my Friday) and it’s time for a glass of wine.

From this point on, when I refer to my weekend I actually mean Wednesday and Thursday. Just so we are all on the same page.

I’ve found myself lately with a major sweet tooth. I blame this mostly on Gracie. The past few times she’s baked I have gone over to help and eat her scraps! Her cakes are SOO GOOD. Good enough for me to go over and eat the pieces she cuts off to shape the cake and would otherwise throw away. Why waste it, right? Aside from being so delicious, her decorations are to die for. Check out her facebook! You’ll see what I mean :).

20130414-202446.jpg

Last weekend I was able to spend time with one of my dearest friends, Lisa! Lisa was also a meteorology major at Valpo and we were pretty much inseparable (including our PIC Rudy!). After college, Lisa got a job as a broadcaster in Lubbock, TX. She was home this past week on a vacation and I was so, so happy to have the chance to see her! We both enjoyed a yummy lunch at Red Robin and caught up on A LOT. It was so good to see her and reminisce about old times. She has so many great things ahead of her and I can’t wait to see where she goes! šŸ™‚ (I miss her already, btw).

Remember how I blogged about the beautiful weather in Chicago? Yeah, that didn’t last. The following day Jim and I went out into the crazy weather for the Cubs game. With both of our schedules I honestly cannot believe that we found a game we both could go to. Despite the barely above freezing temperature, drizzle, and wind we had a fun time! I’m definitely looking forward to more games when the weather is a little lot nicer.

20130414-202354.jpg

Two weeks ago I ordered a 1000 piece Dr. Who puzzle from the BBC America Shop online. Lucky for me it came in during my weekend. I didn’t have to worry about wasting any valuable time before work! I was so happy to get started on it. I truthfully have no idea how long it will take, but I’ll update my progress as it goes. Ehmm..as you can tell I’m not very far. I am definitely in way over my head. There are so many blues, oranges, and swirls. Fun, right? šŸ™‚

20130414-202347.jpg

20130414-202342.jpg

(Newly) Favorite Dr. Who quote:

20130414-202408.jpg

Enjoy the rest of your week! I’m off to the hair salon for a pre-birthday treat šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

