Banana Bread. A Failure and A Success Story.

Jim and I were cleaning last week and realized we had the perfect bananas for banana bread! I’ve never really been much for a baker (I’m lucky I can cook at all) but I decided to give it a try. That was after I borrowed 90% of the ingredients from my Mom and Gram. It couldn’t be that hard, right?

Fast forward to 2 hours later when the smoke alarm is going off….

The recipe I used said the ingredients made 1 loaf so I used 1 pan. Before you ask, yes it was the correct size pan. The batter filled the pan about 3/4 to the top and I was a little iffy on how it would bake. I had no idea how much it would rise, so I decided to go with the recipe and leave it as 1 loaf. Bad. Bad. Bad. Idea.

20130413-200934.jpg

Within 20 minutes of cooking the whole top fell over onto the bottom of the oven and caused the smoke alarm to go off. Oops. I took a spatula and scraped off the entire top of the bread and let it cook. Oops x 2. It happened again. After the 60 minutes of cook time was up, it had barely cooked. Well, that went in the garbage as soon as I got the smoke alarm to stop going off. Again.

Side note: I am a pro at getting the smoke alarm to stop since it happens at my Grandma’s at every holiday.

I was so sad when it didn’t work I decided to try again! We had enough bananas so why not? You’ll need 3 ripe bananas, 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, 1 tablespoon of milk, 1 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 2 eggs, 2 cups of flour, 1 stick of butter, and TWO baking pans. Oh, and a lot of mixing bowels.

Start by mashing the bananas in a bowl. Then add the cinnamon and milk. Mix and set aside. Bowl 1: complete.

20130413-200940.jpg

In bowl 2, mix the flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Complete.

20130413-200922.jpg

In bowl 3 add the sugar and butter. You’ll want to make sure you butter is soft enough to mix well with the sugar. Once you have a “fluffy” (best word I could find to describe what it looked like) mixture, add 1 egg at a time. Make sure it is mixed together well!

20130413-200909.jpg

20130413-200916.jpg

Add bowl 1 to bowl 3 and mix. That would be the banana mixture mixing with the sugar/butter/egg concoction. Mix! Mix! Mix!

Slowly, or else you’ll create a mess, add bowl 2 to your bowl 1/3 combo. Mix ONLY until the flour disappears.

20130413-200946.jpg

20130413-200928.jpg

The key: pour your mixture into two separate baking pans. Learn from my mistake; 1 pan is not enough! Bake at 325 for 50 minutes (or until a toothpick from the center comes out clean).

20130413-200952.jpg

This entry was posted in Desserts, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

