Spicy Sausage Pasta

True story..this is my new favorite dinner. Thanks, Pinterest. It reminds me of eating hot-dogs and mac and cheese together.

Before I started cooking I knew this would either turn out kick@$$ or terrible. Thankfully it was the first one. I couldn’t stop taste testing it while cooking because it smelt that good.

Enough about my obsession over this. You’ll need this:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 14-ounce package smoked turkey sausage cut into rounds
1 cup diced onion
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth (Swanson is 100% organic!)
1 10-ounce can Ro-Tel Tomatoes and Green Chiles
1/2 cup heavy cream (if you don’t have heavy cream don’t worry..there’s a substitute!)
8 ounces uncooked penne pasta (about 2 1/2 cups)
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 1/2 cups Monterey Jack cheese, shredded

20130310-123901.jpg

Part of the Ingredients

20130310-123854.jpg

If you don’t have heavy cream, don’t worry. I didn’t either. And I wasn’t about to go buy some for a small 1/2 cup. I looked up a substitute online and found it for 1 cup. Since we only need 1/2 cup and I made this recently, I saved all the conversions for you! No need to think so hard on this Sunday morning. Melt 1/6th cup (OR 5 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon…still a 1/6th 🙂 ) of butter and pour it into 3/8th cup of milk (OR 6 tablespoons..!). Voila. You have made heavy cream.

Heat the oil in a pan over the stove until smoking. Toss in your sausage rounds and onion. Cook for about 4-5 minutes or until it’s slightly brown.

Add the broth, Ro-Tel tomatoes, heavy cream, uncooked pasta, and pepper to your sausage/onion combo. Stir, bring to a boil, cover the skillet, and turn onto medium-low. Stir occasionally and wait until your pasta is tender (this is the best place to make an excuse for taste testing). By this point I was practically drooling.

20130310-123906.jpg

Anyway, preheat your broiler! I didn’t even know I had a broiler or how exactly to use it. If I can do, you can too!

Remove from the heat and stir in 1 cup of cheese. Taste again, because you wont be able to resist. Top with the remaining cheese and pop into your broiler until the cheese is melted (only about 3 minutes)!

20130310-123918.jpg

Now stuff your face.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Pinterest Inspired, Quick Meals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

