One Year

One year ago TODAY  took my dispatching certification exam and passed! I became an official aircraft dispatcher 🙂

Sort of…the FAA requires you to be 23 and my birthday wasn’t until May, but still! Just a small detail.

It’s so crazy how much can change in a year. This time last year I just started reading The Hunger Games and still had 2 days in Ft. Lauderdale. I was working at the real estate agency and began my search for jobs. I started in Sunline near the end of March and learned so much during my time there. It was my first “big girl” job and it was an amazing place to start.

Now I am just a month and a half into working for United. I am so happy to be where I am and so thankful for all of my hard work over the years. It pays off!

I definitely, definitely could not have done it all without my family, friends, and Jim. All of their support is overwhelming and I’m so lucky to have them! Since today is a special day (in my eyes), I’ve decided to reminisce a little.

Figuring out what I wanted to study in college was pretty easy. I had always loved the weather so getting a degree in it seemed like a no brainer. I’ve always been a math person but not so much a science person so not all of my classes were the easiest. But I guess that’s how it goes for everyone, right? We all have our strengths and weaknesses. I sort of just fell into the idea of being a broadcaster when I started. After doing 2 internships I really just had to admit to myself that that’s not that I wanted to do. My heart just wasn’t in it. So, now what? I was ending my junior year and had no idea what I would do after graduation.

I attended an annual conference in Seattle of January 2011 and fell in love with the aviation aspect of things. That spring, actually, an aviation meteorology class was being offered for the first time. Of course I signed up since it was something different. Trust me, it was an 8a class my senior spring semester. I wouldn’t have taken it just for fun. At the conference I attended a lot of discussions and presentations about the aviation industry. So many topics were covered. A few things that really stuck out to me was the whole idea of de-icing a plane, what it’s really made of, the timing of deicing, and the impacts the delays can have. As a traveler you really don’t think of all of the work that goes on behind the scenes. I also remember hearing all of the programs that are available that help forecast for the aviation world. There were so many already being used and a ton in the staging process.

Over the course of that week it became really clear to me that this is where my heart’s at. Maybe it had always been there and I never realized it. There was a silent tug toward traveling and maybe I should have listened to it sooner. Aside from traveling, though, all of the weather involved were things I liked doing and was good at. I researched somethings after the conference and really looked into dispatching. The summer after graduation I immediately the process of getting into Sheffield. I had finally found my “nitch”.

One last thanks. Thanks to all the people who didn’t think I could do it or who didn’t think I would make anything of my degree. Seriously. This includes professors and peers. You all really inspired me to prove you wrong. Which I have :).

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

