Recipes, Travel, and Books. OH MY.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted! My schedule last week left me exhausted. It’s the same this week, but there’s a nice little vacation waiting in two weeks!

Before getting into that, I spent my last weekend off with my mom in Ft. Lauderdale! It was planned last minute and we had so much fun. We got in Sunday night (was more than happy to miss the Superbowl this year) and spent time walking around the town and grabbed some subs and ice cream. It felt a-m-a-z-i-n-g to just walk around outside and not worry about having a coat on. Nothing like topping off the night with an outdoor jacuzzi!

20130205-214547.jpg

Monday was spent in the sun. Literally, all day by the pool. Breakfast, sun. Lunch, sun. Sun, dinner. Umm. Trust me when I say we both got a LOT of sun because we left the color of tomatoes. For the most part, I actually got a tan. But my face, neck, parts of my arms, and hands(?) got a liiiiiiiiittttttlllllleeee too much. I’m pretty positive it was because of the way I was laying and reading, but oh well. Oh and maybe the lack of sun I’ve seen since, well, August.

20130205-214556.jpg

Last year I was in Ft. Lauderdale (around this time – funny, right?). I was attending Sheffield getting my dispatch license. Jim came down for a few days and we actually went to a sports bar for the Superbowl. It was called Bokamper’s so my mom and I went to dinner there on Monday night. It was a perfect ending to the day. I forgot how good the food was! We had huge nachos, chicken bruschetta flatbread, and grilled cheese. We split the dinner because everything looked so good! We came home this morning and it’s cold.

20130205-214604.jpg

Dinner view

About a week ago I started reading Beautiful Creatures and I AM OBSESSED. I’m about halfway done with the final book (#4) and the series has completely blown me away. I wasn’t expecting to be so hooked, honestly. I was thinking it would be a quick read that’s just something to read but it has quickly become one of my favorite series. I highly recommend reading them if you’re looking for a new series! Outside of book 1, the 3rd is my absolute favorite. I’ll warn you though, it’s a tear jerker! Just kidding i bawled my eyes out.

I’ve definitely been trying a lot new recipes that are so healthy and delicious. When I get home from work the last thing I feel like doing is cooking so it’s really important to me that anything I plan on cooking is quick. I’ll be posting a ton of recipes this week so keep checking back!

I mentioned earlier that there’s a nice little vacation coming up and it’s to Hawaii! I joked with Jim when I accepted my new job that for Valentine’s Day I would get him surf lessons. Looks like I’m holding true to my word! We’re going for just a few days but it’s the first time we’ll be traveling and on vacation just us two. Words cannot describe how excited I am.

Here’s the first of many recipes. Oh yeah, it’s gluten free!

Mediterranean Chicken with Vinegar Roasted Peppers

Whatcha need: 1 large onion, 3 peppers of your choice (we used red, yellow, green), 1/2 cup organic balsamic vinegar, 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, 1/2 cup gluten-free chicken broth, 4 cloves of garlic, 1 tablespoon of dried basil, 1 teaspoon Italian Herb Seasoning, 4 chicken breasts.

Preheat your oven to 375. I started by slicing the peppers and onions into thin strips and keeping that aside in a bowl.
20130205-213629.jpg
In another bowl mix your balsamic vinegar, olive oil, chicken broth, chopped garlic and herbs. Pour the sauce over the peppers/onions. Place the chicken in the bottom of a pan (I used a glass dish) and pour the peppers/onion/sauce over the chicken.
20130205-213639.jpg
Make sure you use all of the sauce! You’ll want it – it’s delish. Cover with foil, pop in the oven for 35 minutes (depending on how your chicken cooks – mine was slightly frozen when I put it in so it took about 50 minutes to cook fully). It was so tender I couldn’t believe it. Enjoy!
20130205-213648.jpg
Other recipes coming up: stuffed shells, stuffed peppers, homemade chicken noodle soup, and some type of flatbread!
Happy Pretty Little Liars Day!

20130205-213713.jpg

20130205-213723.jpg

I want this.

 

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Gluten Limited, Life, Pinterest Inspired, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

