Hello, 2013!

First post of the new year! I hope everyone had a fun & safe holiday :).

I was lucky enough to have the holiday off with starting my new job. My days off will be Monday and Tuesday which just so happened to be New Years Eve & New Years day this year! A lot of people went up to Detroit for the Bears game (I was working but happily working at the new job..!! Still exciting) so we didn’t have too many plans. The past two years we spent at Bourbon Street but I didn’t feel like shelling out the money for anything along those lines. There were a lot of good deals around the city and close to home but..ehhh..just wasn’t feelin’ it, ya know?

What did we do instead? Well, Jim and I hosted a “Minute-to-Win-it” themed party! It. Was. Hilarious. If you’ve never seen the show (on NBC, I think) you should look it up! It’s basically just a game show where people have to win at small games that you can play with household items. The trick? You have one minute to beat the game. It’s intense!! You think a minute isn’t a long time but when you’re watching the clock slowly tick by you would be amazed at how much you can accomplish!!

If you go to the official website, they have instructions and details about each game. Sarah came over one afternoon and we picked a few that we thought would be fun to do. A lot of the items we had around the apartment so we didn’t need to buy much. Always helpful.

The first game we played was called “A Bit Dicey” and required you to put a Popsicle stick in your mouth and then stack 6 dice on top of each other, one by one, on the Popsicle stick. In a minute. Think it sounds easy? Give it a try and let me know how it goes. You need steady, steady hands!

Other games included “Breakfast Scramble” (a 16 piece puzzle of a cereal box), “Junk in the Trunk” (tying an empty Kleenex box around your waist and trying to shake out 6 ping pong balls out – my favorite to watch), and “Face the Cookie” (using only your face muscles you have to move a cook from your forehead to your mouth).

20130101-200110.jpg

Carolyn working on the puzzle..

20130101-200119.jpg

Completed!

20130101-200133.jpg

Hahaha, Jim trying to get the ping pong balls out.

20130101-200218.jpg

Dan working on the cookie..

Congrats to Kelly for being the only one to do all the challenges! Mad props on the cookie one šŸ™‚ & thank you to everyone for contributing! We had lots of good food & lots of laughs!

For Christmas, the bestest of my friends Sarah gave me a book called “This Book Will Change Your Life”. It’s kind of hard to describe, but basically it gives you something to do each day for the next year that will spice up your life. It makes you think in a different way and challenge you to look at things differently. In the mix of it all, there are some hysterical things to do (yes, I looked ahead). It has places in the book so you can record what you thought or felt during each day. I really want to keep up with this, so let’s add it to my resolutions. When I come across something funny I’ll make sure to share!

Day one? Pretty easy. It was a “warm up” for the rest of the year. They gave me a list of things I could do pretty easily and I told to pick one. Some options were to jaywalk in a pedestrian zone, use a different thickness comb, try a new sandwich filing, or bookmark a new website. I actually did a few – I said “yo” instead of “hello” when picking up my phone, held up the phone to my other year, and bookmarked a new website. Looks like I’m off to a good start šŸ™‚

My days off this weekend were pretty relax. I saw Michelle and Gracie and I got to spend some time with my mom and Gram at the movies (and Jim) and just relaxed. I’m on days the month of January so my sleeping schedule for the past 8 months needs to be reversed. Should be interesting to see how that goes! Guess it’s time to watch “The Proposal” and try and sleep. Goodnight!

20130101-201458.jpg

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

