Night Owl

I’m only 3 days into my new job at United and I couldn’t be happier! I’ve been training on the night shift this week with someone I know and it’s so helpful. Borys trained me at Sunline so it’s easier working with him since I know his working style. I’ve gotten comfortable with the place so I’m no longer shy using the kitchen, getting up to use the bathroom, etc. Its a good feeling!

My badge and parking pass are working so that’s a relief. It wasn’t bad without either – just an inconvenience. However I am so thankful they’re both working only 3 days in. It’s a quick drive into the city! Much better than hauling myself to the airport every night. My mom has been so helpful this week in driving me and picking me up until things got situated.

A lot of what we do is computer based and just like any other job it’s all about learning the ropes. I was pretty overwhelmed after my first day and convinced it would take me a month to get all the codes down that we use. I’m happy to say last night (only day 2!) I was using the computer by myself and just asking questions as they came up. Tonight is pretty much the same, but I’m feeling a TON more confident. It’s a lot slower during the night than during the day so it’s been easier for me to practice and take things that come in at my own pace. For once I’m thankful for starting at night! The whole month of January I will be on days – looks like I’ll get lots of practice in then :).

I plan on recapping Christmas, but want to add a lot of pictures so ill get that up this weekend. For now I’m off to look at ideas for our NYE party on Pinterest (last minute idea to host..eek!)

20121228-002133.jpg

20121228-002140.jpg

20121228-002937.jpg

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Night Owl

  1. Amanda says:

    I’m so happy for you that you have a new job that you love, and that you were able to pick up on the different codes quickly. The pictures of the city look amazing at night, so thanks for sharing that. I always love reading your posts as they always inspire me to write more of my own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

