Thanksgivin’

Well, Thanksgiving has come and gone. It came out of no where and then was over just as quick. Where has 2012 gone? I really don’t know.

My momma & Aunt Connie’s birthday was the Monday before Thanksgiving so a few of us went out to lunch at Beggers. It was delicious! Their pizza is actually really good! & Monday is 1/2 priced – even better. My Aunt Connie got a coach wrist-let from my mom which is AMAZING because I come to find out she’s been using baggies in her purse to hold small things. Baggies, be gone! My mom got a really nice sweater/jacket, but I think her favorite gift was from me (yes, I’m biased). SKYLINE CHILI. She talks about it all the time and has been dying for some, so being the good daughter that I am I made that happen for her 🙂

20121128-200723.jpg

Aunt Connie showing off her present – goodbye baggies!

20121128-200730.jpg

Momma & her Skyline Chili

I love the holidays because it’s time I actually get to spend with my family. After being away at school for 4 years and now having my brother and cousin away at school it’s nice to all actually be in the same place at the same time. I had to work on Thanksgiving night, but I didn’t start until 10p so I had all day with the fam.

20121128-200702.jpg

My brother & myself

20121128-200746.jpg

ALL the cousins + Jim/Nick. We take this picture every year, almost every holiday. Think we need another couch?

We did the usual dinner at grams but I honestly think it would be too weird if we ever decided to do something different. That’s where I’ve spent Thanksgiving (I think) my entire life. Since I started dating Jim (many moons ago) I’ve started to split my time between his two families as well. His mom does dinner and his dad & Nancy go bowling after eating. I wasn’t able to see either sides this year because of work, but I’ll get to spend some time with them around Christmas!

20121128-200643.jpg

YUM.

Speaking of Christmas, I can’t believe it’s right around the corner. Literally, it’s less than a month away. I ACTUALLY started Christmas shopping early(-ish) this year. Usually I am one of those people who waits until the week before (oops) but this year I’ve taken time to actually plan out how my shopping will go down. I give budgeting props for that! I ordered my first Christmas present 2 days after Thanksgiving and it felt WONDERFUL!!! Off to a good start 🙂

We talked about getting a little tree for our apartment and we ended up with a 6 foot tree decorated in clear lights and silver/red bulbs. I. Love. Walmart. Everything was so cheap! Definitely kept it in my budget – we even got lights for our balcony! I don’t think I could have gone the season without some sort of decoration.

20121128-200753.jpg

Loving it!

Back on the topic of Thanksgiving..my Gram sent out an email to my cousin Catherine, my mom, two aunts, and myself regarding what we would contribute to dinner. I opted for appetizers since I was dying to try two I found on pinterest (surprise surprise). I had something similar to one before, but I honestly had no idea how the other one would turn out so I made it the weekend before Thanksgiving as a “tester”. Jim & I loved it – we ate the whole thing that day! I recommend both of these if you’re looking for something simple to make.

The day after Thanksgiving, Friday, the majority of my family made our way to Amelia & Finn’s birthday party. Amelia turned 3 while Finn turned 2. Amelia is the daughter of Eileen & Adrian and Finn is the son of Bethanne & Mike. I grew up with Eileen, Bethanne, & Maxine and although we aren’t blood related, I consider them a HUGE part of my family. Bethanne & Mike used to live in Indiana right by where I went to college so I babysat for Finn all the time. They recently moved and I miss him so much! I keep telling them once they get a house I’m going to be their live in nanny – they think I’m kidding! 🙂

20121128-200830.jpg

Amelia blowing out her candles!

20121128-200837.jpg

This was the best picture I could get of Finn’s shirt (who knew 2 year olds didn’t like to sit still for pictures?) They created this shirt for him BBTB – big brother to be – and that’s how they announced they were expecting another baby! Congratulations! 

The Saturday after Thanksgiving all of my cousins, myself, Jim, Nick (Catherine’s boyfriend), and Gram made our annual gingerbread houses. Sorry Gram, yours is *usually* the best but I think this year Colton & I had the best one. We decided to work together and make a TARDIS. Yes, you read that correctly. We made a Tardis. Out of gingerbread. If you haven’t guessed, my love for Dr. Who has grown. I’m working on watching Season 5 now and as awesome as Matt Smith is as the doctor, David Tennant will always be my favorite. Any whovians out there?

20121128-200808.jpg

Our TARDIS.

20121128-200759.jpg

My PIC – Colton

I hope all of you had an enjoyable Thanksgiving & aren’t stressing out too much with Christmas coming up! Don’t forget to enjoy what it’s all really about 🙂

Here are the recipes for the appetizers I made for Thanksgiving:

Mississippi Sin Dip

Need: 16oz sour cream, 8oz cream cheese (softened), 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup chopped ham, 1 green onion chopped, 1/4 tsp hot sauce, French loaf bread.

20121128-200611.jpg

Combine all the ingredients (except the bread) in a bowl and mix well. Hollow out the bread and pour the mixture in. Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees while covered with foil. We ate ours with Fritos but you can really use anything!

20121128-200623.jpg

20121128-200633.jpg

Right out of the oven

Charleston Cheese Dip
If you love Cheese and Bacon you might become extremely addicted to this, just a warning.

Need: 1/2 cup mayo, 8oz cream cheese (softened), 1 cup grated cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup Monterrey jack cheese, 2 green onions (chopped), 8 Ritz crackers (crushed), 8 slices of bacon (cooked & crumbled)

Mix together the mayo, cheeses, green onions, cream cheese. Once mixed well, transfer to a shallow dish and top with Ritz crackers. Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. Top with bacon and serve! We ate this also with Fritos, but it recommends corn chips, bagel chips, or crackers.

20121128-200655.jpg

THE BEST.

 

This entry was posted in Food, Life, Pinterest Inspired, Quick Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

