Ham..Ham..Ham & Cheese

Such a beautiful weekend filled with sunshine, bags, birthdays, and a little bit of work. Before the weekend fun started, Bubbs & I spent some quality time Thursday before his softball game & I went to work. He cleaned the pool (for the weekend) while I made Ham&Cheese Sliders for dinner!

I found this recipe on pinterest (has anyone noticed how much time I spent on this website yet?) and am quite surprised how well it turned out. They were so easy and so delicious – definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a quick, light meal during the warm weather.

I picked up a pack of 12 slider buns from Jewel along with 1/2lb of honey ham & swiss cheese. I packed the bottom half of the buns into a glass dish and preheat the oven to 400 degrees. I layered on the ham & cheese while covering the top portion of the bun with a combo of mayo & miracle whip (I eat both – prefer mayo – but the combo was quite tasty!). Put the top of each bun on and apply the poppy seed sauce.

Poppy Seed Sauce:

1/2 Tablespoon poppyseeds
3/4 Tablespoons yellow mustard
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/4 Tablespoon minced onion
1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

I was a little nervous about the sauce but it added so much flavor!! I used a tablespoon to pour a little on each bun & that worked well.

Throw some foil over the dish and pop in the oven for 10 minutes. While those were cooking I grilled some corn and covered them in about a pound of butter (yum). When the 10 minutes are done, take of foil off and cook for another 2-3 minutes. The buns get the *perfect* kind of crisp, the sauce soaks into the meat, and the cheese melts into the ham. I’m making myself hungry again.

12 sandwiches fed Bubbs & me for the night, along with some leftovers. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Lunch, Pinterest Inspired, Quick Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

