50 Shades Trilogy

After coming off what I like to call The-Hunger-Game-High, I wasn’t sure I would ever find as good of a series to read next. I mean, my obsession with The Hunger Games was borderline crazy. I would dream about it, think about it during the day, read it in 1 day, etc. This, however, gives The Hunger Games a run for it’s money.

I was searching all over the interweb for a new series & getting mighty frustrated that I couldn’t just pick one. Finally, on the Barns and Noble homepage, I saw FIFTY SHADES OF GREY. Okay, interesting summary on the back & got a TON of good reviews (which I should have read more closely). Whatever, I bought it.

WOWOWOWOW. Where do I begin? Well, let me fill you in with a summary. (Take from B&N):

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms. Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires. Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

The characters are so easy to fall in love with right from the start. The story is well written and just when you get comfortable, things switch up on you. You never know what is going to happen. With that being sad, you HAVE to keep an open mind when reading this book. Do NOT let the different scenarios make you think twice about the story. It passes! After finishing Fifty Shades of Grey, I honestly didn’t know what I thought about the book. Did I like it? Did it freak me out? Should I read the next one? Of course I should, who am I kidding here.

I started FIFTY SHADES OF DARKER immediately the next day and it picked up right where the first left off (thank goodness – I had so many questions). It had a COMPLETELY different feel to the book. Between the 2nd and 3rd book (FIFTY SHADES OF FREED), the most romantic love story unfolded right before my eyes. I fell madly in love with Christian Grey (if you say you didn’t, you’re lying) and my heart ached for Anastasia. Everything about this series exceeded my expectations. I would have never guessed this is how the story would have unfolded after the first book. NEVER.

After doing some googling after finishing the series, I have found that Universal and Focus have bought the rights to make this into a movie. HOLY COW. I cannot wait. The possibilities for actors to play Christian Grey are ENDLESS. I cannot wait!! I’m also curious to see the rating on the movie – R or NC17? Not kidding.

If ANYONE is looking for an unbelievable romantic series – and by romantic I don’t mean Twilight romantic – READ THESE!!!

(& then get a hold of me so we can chat about them. I really need to join a book club. Anyway, enjoy!)

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 Shades Trilogy

  1. Alison D. says:

    Totally can relate to this series helping me through the Hunger Games withdrawals I was experiencing.

  2. Many are probably thinking that because a lot of women love this trilogy, they are all hare-brained idiots with no taste in literature. To actually make that sweeping generalization is like saying, geez, you watch E! and browse Perez Hilton and love Koreanovelas. THE REALITY IS, Women READ what they want to read, from Tolstoy to Playgirl and vise versa. There is no high or low grid that says this is great and this is crap. Such is the freedom we enjoy today. We learn from everywhere and we can afford to actually buy the expensive books for our pleasure, too..lol can’t just get over it..loved the book!

Leave a Reply

