A Different Kind Of Chicken

I was planning on making this for dinner Thursday night, but ended up with the stomach flu (not from my cooking). Since my family & Jim were around this afternoon, I decided to cook lunch for them!

I was looking to make something that I wouldn’t normally try. I have a tendency to stick with what I know (again, the basics) and not branch away far from that. If I had to guess why, it would probably because I don’t want to spend so much time cooking and then not enjoy what I’m eating (leaving me hungry..still). But hey, it’s a New Year Resolution for a reason so, why not?!

This recipe is for pretty basic chicken with a little twist, but a few of the ingredients made me iffy. Goldfish? Ranch? Who would have thought.

Things you need: Chicken (I used frozen chicken breast tenderloins), bottled ranch, bite-size fish-shape cheddar crackers (I used the basic goldfish).

I preheated the over to 425*F and lined two baking pans with foil. Sprayed them lightly with nonstick cooking spray and I was ready to begin.

Image

The directions call for crushing the crackers. I LOVE this tip they give you because I would have never figured it out myself and made a huge mess! I put the goldfish in a baggie and used a rolling pin (okay, so we don’t have a rolling pin. I just used something to roll them with) to smash them. So easy!

Image

I poured them into a small container and poured ranch in a separate container. I found it works best if you have everything lined up in a row (ranch, crackers, cooking pan). You just coat the chicken in ranch (let the extra drip off), cover in crackers, and put on the pan! Basically, the ranch replaces the egg and the crackers the regular bread crumbs.

Image

Image

You bake, uncovered, for 10-15 minutes. Voila! So easy and so delicious.

I didn’t tell my brother or Jim what the chicken was breaded with until after they tried it. Both LOVED it! I was so shocked & happy!

I wasn’t sure how much the recipe would make exactly, so I sort of just eyeballed it. It originally calls for 7 cups of goldfish, 1 1/2 cups of bottled ranch salad dressing, 2 pounds of chicken. That is supposed to make 2 meals with 4 servings each. Since I was feeding 2 hungry boys, myself, my mom & gram..it was easier just to make what I thought would be enough.

Even though we hardly had any leftovers, it says to put the remaining chicken in an airtight container and you can freeze them for a month or keep them cool for 3 days. Reheat them in the oven at 400*F for 15 minutes if cooled, and 20 minutes if frozen. I bet that tastes a lot better than the microwave.

All that we had left:

Image

I’m pretty glad things turned out good for lunch. Tackling crepes tomorrow morning! (Thin pancakes as my brother likes to call them).

This entry was posted in Dinner, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

